Prix du Calvados History: Juvenile Fillies on their way to the mile

20 August 2020

Prix du Calvados History: Juvenile Fillies on their way to the mile


August, Deauville



Group 2, 2-year-old fillies, 1,400m/7f, €90,000

Created in 1970


Last winner: Fev Rover (f2, IRE by Gutaifan ex Laurelita, by High Chaparral), owned by N. Bradley Racing 43 & Partners, bred by Manister House Stud, trained by Richard Fahey, ridden by Christophe Soumillon.

Record-time: 1’21’’1, Proviso (2007)

The race will be run in 2021 for the 52nd time.

The 2020 edition

Saturday, 22 August 2020, Deauville. - A 2-year-old fillies 7f race, the Shadwell Prix du Calvados (Gr2) has crowned many a champion over the years.

This time, the winner comes from England as the favourite Fev Rover (Gutaifan) prevailed after a heated duel against a brave front-running Plainchant (Gregorian), finally beaten by only a neck without ever giving in. Always well positioned behind, King’s Harlequin (Camelot) confirmed her previous Listed win, the Prix Roland de Chambure (L) at ParisLongchamp, in 3rd place, half a length down the field.

Trained in England by Richard Fahey, bought £ 20,000 at England's Goffs sales, Fev Rover had finished second on her debut, but then challenged an unbeaten filly in a Group 2 at Newmarket on soft ground. She had just taken her revenge by winning a Listed race over 7f at Sandown.

She is entered in the Qatar Prix Marcel Boussac (Gr1).



Created in 1970, the Prix du Calvados currently offers 2 year-old fillies an early chance to take each other on in a Group race, having acquired this status in 1977. Contested over 6 ½ furlongs from 1970 to 1976, its distance was increased to 7 furlongs from 1977.

The Prix du Calvados winners’ list includes the names of several fillies who have gone on to great things, such as Theia (1975, Prix Marcel Boussac), Exclusive Order (1981, Prix Maurice de Gheest), Maximova (1982, Prix de la Salamandre), Almeira (1983, Prix Marcel Boussac), Helen Street (1984, Irish Oaks), Whalkilyric (1986, dam of Hernando, Prix du Jockey Club), Oczy Czarnie (1988, Prix de la Salamandre), Verveine (1991, Prix de l'Opéra), Six Perfections (2002, Prix Marcel Boussac, Prix Jacques Le Marois), Elusive Wave (2008, Poule d'Essai), Elusive Kate (2011, Marcel Boussac, Falmouth Stakes, Prix Romanet twice) and Polydream (2017, Prix Maurice de Gheest).

The race was sponsored by the Haras du Logis, the Haras des Capucines (from 2005 to 2012), the PMU, Longines, The Jockeys' Association, and since 2017 by Shadwell, the breeding operation of Sheikh Hamdan Al Maktoum.

Foreign winners

ELEVEN of the last 22 winners were trained abroad, and only once is not from Britain, that is Joanna, in 2009, trained in Italy by Bruno Grizzetti. The first foreign winner is Helen Street, winner in 1984 and trained by Dick Hern.



  • Michael Sobell (3 wins): Waterway (1978), Helen Street (1984), Arousal (1989).
  • Mohammed Al Maktoum & Godolphin (3 wins): Cox Orange (1992), Kareymah (1998), Beyond Reason (2018).
  • Niarchos Family (3 wins): Whalkilyric (1986) for Stavros, Six Perfections (2002) for Niarchos Family.
  • Wertheimer Family (3 wins): Blushing Gleam (1995) for Jacques, Polydream (2017) for Wertheimer & Frère.


  • François Boutin (4 wins): Joberane (1973), Bernica (1980), Whalkilyric (1986), Savannah’s Honor (1987).
  • Jacques-Charles Cunnington (2 wins): Virgin (1976), Almeira (1983).
  • Christiane Head (2 wins): Maximova (1982), Blushing Gleam (1995).
  • Dick Hern (2 wins): Helen Street (1984), Arousal (1989).
  • Elie Lellouche (2 wins): Verveine (1991), Queen Bee (2014).
  • André Fabre (3 wins): Cox Orange (1992), Proviso (2007), Tropbeau (2019).
  • Peter Chapple Hyam (2 wins): Woodland Melody (1997), Cours de la Reine (2004).
  • Mick Channon (2 wins): Ascension (2000), Ya Hajar (2001).
  • Richard Fahey (2 wins): Sandiva (2013), Fev Rover (2020).


  • Yves Saint-Martin (3 wins): Theia (1975), Lady Jane Grey (1977), Rayonnante (1985).
  • Freddy Head (3 wins): Maximova (1982), Savannah’s Honor (1987), Fairy Path (1994).
  • Christophe Soumillon (3 wins): Cours de la Reine (2004), Great Page (2015), Fev Rover (2020).
  • Philippe Paquet (2 wins): Joberane (1973), Bernica (1980).
  • Dominique Vincent (2 wins): Exclusive Order (1981), Almeira (1983).
  • Willy Carson (2 wins): Helen Street (1984), Arousal (1989).
  • Thierry Gillet (2 wins): Lady Vettori (1999), Green Swallow (2003).
  • Christophe Lemaire (2 wins): Charlotte O’Fraise (2006), Elusive Wave (2008).
  • Lanfranco Dettori (2 wins): Kareymah (1998), Sandiva (2013).