Hocquart Longines Report: Guillaume safe at port

8 August 2020

Hocquart Longines Report: Guillaume safe at port

Photo scoopdyga.com

Saturday, 8 August 2020, Deauville. - The favourite of the Prix Hocquart Longines (Gr2), Port Guillaume (Le Havre) led half the field of six runners along the rail as the Prix du Lys (Gr3) winner Volkan Star (Sea the Stars) led the other half further out. Going into the home stretch, Port Guillaume responded well to his rival and the representative of Claudio Marzocco, Bernard Benaych and Jean-Claude Rouget even took off, leaving the field without reaction and increasing his lead then again for this first attempt over 1m4f.

At the post, Port Guillaume was three lengths ahead of Ketil (Karakontie), Pao Alto (Intello) and Dick Whittington (War Command), who finished in that order in one line.

Click here for the sectional timing of the race.

This race serves as a preparation for the Paris Grand Prix (Gr1), contested on September 13 at ParisLongchamp, and which the coach of winner Jean-Claude Rouget has confirmed will be Port Guillaume's next goal.

Bought € 55,000 at the Deauville sales, the winner was unbeaten in three races since his debut, this winter at Cagnes-sur-Mer, before trying his luck in the Prix du Jockey Club (Gr1). He had run very honourably that day to take fifth place in the Chantilly classic, coming from very far, too late and without having a clear run at the decisive moment.

The yearling brother to Port Guillaume by Recorder is consigned at the Arqana selection sales in Deauville in September. Bred by Franklin Finance, Elisabeth Ribard and Sylvain Vidal, Port Guillaume is out of Keira (Turtle Bowl), who was also trained by Jean-Claude Rouget and won four races for owner Bernard Benaych. She also gave Aubevoye (Le Havre), a Listed winner for Augustin-Normand now owned by Bernard Benaych, and also trained by Jean-Claude Rouget.

This is the seventh victory in the race for the trainer, who has also saddled Shaka (1997), Maille Pistol (2001), Coroner (2003), Lord du Sud (2004), Numide (2006) and Mekhtaal (2016) to win the Hocquart before this new victory.