Ferdinand Dufaure 4yo Chase History: A first Chase crown

23 May 2022

Ferdinand Dufaure 4yo Chase History: A first Chase crown

photo scoopdyga.com

May, Auteuil

Ferdinand Dufaure 4yo Chase


Group 1, 4-year-olds, Steeple-chase, 4,300m/21.5f, €320,000

Created in 1951

Last winner: Altesse du Berlais (f4, FRA by Martaline ex Hermine du Berlais, by Saint des Saints), owned by Gianni Caggiula, Haras du Berlais, Palmyr Racing, Gilles Barbarin, Guillaume Luyckx, bred by Haras du Berlaid & Ballantines Racing Club, trained by Hector de Lageneste & Guillaume Macaire, ridden by Baptise Le Clerc.

The race will be run in 2023 for the 73rd time

The 2022 edition

May 22, 2022, Auteuil Racecourse (Paris). - It was a sixth win in the Ferdinand Dufaure 4-year-old Chase (Gr1) for trainer Guillaume Macaire after Parika, Storm of Saintly, Punch Nantais, Whetstone and Goliath du Berlais. For his younger partner, Hector de Lageneste, a second Gr1 a few minutes after Sel Jem's Grand Steeple. Owners Gianni Caggiula et Guillaume Luyckx (in partnership with Gilles Barbarin, they leased the filly from the breeder) and rider Baptiste Le Clerc (jockey) had never won a Gr1 before. And this is all down to Altesse du Berlais (Martaline), who is still unbeaten over the bigger obstacles.

After travelling behind the leaders, she took over before the last jump. Despite a slight mistake there, she ran off to a 4-lengths victory over Impressive (Kapgarde), who finished well, and the front runner Iceo Madrik (Choeur du Nord), who fought well.

Fifth in the Chambly 3yo Fillies Hurdle race (Gr3) last year, Altesse du Berlais was geared into chasing this term, slowly climbing the ladder to the top without calling at any of the usual prep races for this championship.

By the great jumps sire Martaline, Altesse du Berlais was bred by Jean-Marc Lucas (Haras du Berlais) and Ballantines Racing Stud (Joseph Hayoz), also involved in her dam Hermine du Berlais (Saint des Saints), who won at Auteuil, and was placed in Group races. At stud, she first gave Colbert du Berlais (Poliglote), a dual Listed-winner at Auteuil. After Altesse du Berlais came Etoile du Berlais, now 3, and Mazarin du Berlais, born in 2020, both being by Great Pretender and in training with Robert Collet. Hermine is out of the champion Royal Athénia (Garde Royale), winner of the Renaud du Vivier 4yo Hurdle race (Gr1).



This race was so named in honour of Ferdinand Dufaure, chairman of the Société des Courses de Dieppe from 1921 to 1930. It was in this capacity that he was made a member of the committee of the Société des Steeple-Chases de France in 1922. He also sat on the executive board from March 1924 to 1931 and was a race steward for four years from 1928 to 1931. After resigning from both posts due to other commitments he remained a board member until his death on 21 January 1947.

A steeplechase for 4 year-olds, the Prix Ferdinand Dufaure was created in 1951 and originally run over a course of 2 miles 6 ½ furlongs. Its distance has varied frequently but it's now run over 2 miles 5 ½ furlongs since 2011. In 2020, due to the coronavirus outbreak, the race was run in mid-June at Compiegne racecourse as Auteuil was still submitted to a lockdown.

It was in 1961 that the Prix Ferdinand Dufaure was added to Auteuil’s summer racecard, switching with the Prix Maurice Gillois, which was put back to the end of the season. Coming one month after the Prix Jean Stern (Group 2), the Prix Ferdinand Dufaure is positioned as the main trial ahead of the Prix Maurice Gillois (Grand Steeple-Chase des Quatre Ans), a race which crowns the year’s best steeplechaser.

Only six horses have managed to win both races: Bonosnap (1955), Katko (1987), As des Carrés (1991), Cyrlight (2004), Or Noir de Somoza (2006) and Oculi (2008). The Prix Ferdinand Dufaure-Grand Steeple-Chase de Paris double has been done by five horses: Bonosnap (1955-1957), Morgex (1968-1972), Katko (1987-1988, 1989, 1990), Ucello II (1990-1993, 1994) Vieux Beaufai (1997-2000), and Storm of Saintly (2013-2014).



  • Julien Décrion (3 wins): Ki Ta Dai (1954), Morgex (1968), Biron (1970) ;
  • Sean Mulryan (3 wins): Cyrlight (2004), Bonbon Rose (2005), Or Noir de Somoza (2006) ;
  • Magalen Bryant (3 wins): Turgot (avec D.J. Jackson en 2001), Saint du Chenet (2010), Whetstone (2018).


  • Jacques Ortet (6 wins): Oblat (1983), Guchen (1985), Frappeuse (1988), Kizitca (1996), Valdance (1998), Rubi Ball (2009) ;
  • Guillaume Macaire (6 wins): Parika (1994), Storm of Saintly (2013), Punch Nantais (2016), Whetstone (2018), Goliath du Berlais (2019), Altesse du Berlais (2022) ;
  • Arnaud Chaillé-Chaillé (5 wins): Karly Flight (2002), Ice Mood (2003), Cyrlight (2004), Bonbon Rose (2005), Or Noir de Somoza (2006) ;
  • Arthur Bates (4 wins): Brémontier (1951), Porte Fanion (1956), Taverne (1967), Firebird (1971) ;
  • André Adèle (4 wins): Ki Ta Dai (1954), Bustier (1959), Morgex (1968), Biron (1970) ;
  • Jean-Paul Gallorini (3 wins): Lapo d’Or (1979), Remember Rose (2007), Kotkikova (2015). 


  • Christophe Pieux (6 wins): Kizitca (1996), Valdance (1998), Bonbon Rose (2005), Or Noir de Somoza (2006), Remember Rose (2007), Rubi Ball (2009).
  • Philippe Sourzac (4 wins): Parika (1994), Karly Flight (2002), Ice Mood (2003), Cyrlight (2004).
  • Bertrand Lestrade (3 wins): Punch Nantais (2016), Whetstone (2018), Goliath du Berlais (2019).